Texas' texting and driving law considered by Senate
A texting and driving bill is back on the table at the capitol Monday.
The Texas House passed HB 62 in March and now the Senate must get the votes to pass the bill before the session ends in two weeks. HB 62 would fine drivers anywhere from $25-$99 for texting and driving.
For second time offenders, the fine would rise to $200. The bill requires TX DOT to put signs along interstates crossing into the state warning drivers that mobile devices are prohibited.
Texas is one of four states that does not have a law against texting and driving. According to TX DOT, 1 in 5 crashes in the state are caused by distracted driving, and that number continues to rise.
There will be a public hearing on the bill Monday in the Senate Affairs Committee at 9:00 a.m.